•  


    BACKGROUND

        Under the current copyright law No.43/99/M in Macau, whenever there is a public performance or public communication of musical works, the permission of the local or foreign copyright owner is required before the use may be carried out. As Macau is a member of the Berne Convention, almost all of the local or foreign musical works used in the territory, whether by casinos, hotels, clubhouses, retail shops, beauty and hair salons, restaurants and cafes, bars and pubs, karaokes, saunas, radio and television broadcasters, cable operators, for ring tone downloads, in cinemas or over the Internet would be protected by law for which payment of royalties have to be made for their use by their respective users.

     

     

     

        The Macau Association of Composers, Authors & Publishers (MACA) is a collective management organization, or a musical society established under the current law and regulations regarding copyrights in Macau, founded by a dedicated group of local composers led by Mr. Ung Kuoc Iang and supported by the International Confederation of Societies of Authors and Composers (CISAC). MACA was registered in the Macau Department of Identification and the Intellectual Property Department in the Economic Service, with the aim to effectively ensure the advancement of creator’s moral interests and the defence of the material interests of music creators and publishers. CISAC is a non-for-profit and non-governmental organization which works closely with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

     

     

     

        Through CISAC, MACA has signed reciprocal agreements with more than forty overseas musical societies and now has a wide coverage of music works from six continents around the globe: Asia (Japan, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taiwan, China, South Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Thailand, Israel, the Philippines, Vietnam and Indonesia), Europe (the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Germany, Switzerland, Iceland, Belgium, Italy, Greece, Hungary, Sweden, Russia, Norway, Finland, Denmark, Lithuania, Montenegro and Ukraine), Oceania (Australia), North America (the United States and Canada), South America (Brazil, Cuba, Mexico and Argentina), Africa (South Africa), etc. That is to say, most popular music around the world has authorized MACA to manage their performing right and broadcasting right in Macau. The foregoing agreements are estimated to cover more than 90% of all musical works currently being used in Macau.

     

     

     

        In addition to these, MACA continues to work with other CISAC member societies throughout the world and enter into reciprocal agreements in order to ensure that music users in Macau only need to go to MACA to obtain a license for the public performance rights in musical works. MACA is here to help music users to use music easily and legally.

     

     


    MISSION

     

        In accordance with Article 4 of the statutes of MACA, the objects for which MACA is established are ‘to exercise and enforce on behalf of its members their rights in relation to musical, literary or dramatic works or performances subsisting under the law of copyright or any other intellectual property rights in Macau and in all other countries or territories’. They may be enumerated as follows:

     

    1.Regarding copyright or other intellectual property right

     

    • To administer and enforce collectively the rights of composers and authors of musical works subsisting under the copyright law of Macau. MACA at present controls the copyright of millions of musical works of local members and members from the aforementioned overseas affiliated societies. All license fees after deduction of its administrative costs will be distributed to local members and overseas affiliated societies depending on the works used in Macau.
    • To protect and administer the rights of its members in more countries and territories outside of Macau by means of reciprocal representation agreements with overseas societies.

     

    2.Regarding social and cultural activities:

     

    • To raise the public awareness on copyright issues, reinforce the public's respect towards composers and authors and ensure that their creative efforts are properly remunerated.
    • To promote and sponsor musical activities, encourage local composition and award music scholarships to improve the local standard of music.


    FUNCTION

     

    • Administration of public performance and communication, broadcasting and cable transmission rights through licensing the world repertoire of musical works vested by its members and overseas affiliated societies to MACA.
    • Distribution of collected royalties to local members and overseas affiliated societies depending on the works used in Macau.
    • Establishment of MACA Music Fund which aims at promoting a higher standard of music composition, sponsoring local musical activities and developing songwriting talents.
    • Enquiry services to members and music users regarding music public performance and communication, broadcasting and cable transmission rights, etc.
    • Liaison with relevant governmental departments to make recommendations on matters relating to copyright legislation and its implementations.

•  

    協會簡介


          根據澳門第43/99/M號著作權及有關權利之制度,一切有關音樂作品之公開表演、廣播等,必需預先得到本地或海外的版權持有人之准許方可進行。澳門是伯爾尼公約的其中一位成員,因此近乎所有本地以及海外的音樂作品,在本澳地區透過各種途徑或場所使用或播放,都受到法律保障其版權權益,包括娛樂場、酒店、會所、零售商店、美容院、美髮店、餐廳、咖啡店、酒吧、卡啦OK、桑拿浴室、電台及電視播放、有線傳播、鈴聲下戴、戲院或互聯網播放等,因此,音樂使用者有責任繳付相應的版權費。


         作曲家、作家及出版社協會(MACA)是澳門目前唯一執行音樂作品作者版權之非牟利、非政府機構,由吳國恩及本地一眾音樂創作人自發組織,並在國際作者和作曲者協會聯合會(CISAC)的支持下而成立的,並合法於澳門特區政府身份證明局及經濟局知識產權廳登記成立,旨在保護本地及海外會員的音樂作品的公開播放權。CISAC是一個由世界知識產權組織(WIPO)和聯合國教科文組織(UNESCO)官方認可的非牟利、非政府機構。


         透過CISAC,多個國際海外聯會合共超過二百萬名作曲家及作詞家委託了MACA管理其音樂作品的版權,這些音樂作品分別來自全球六大洲,包括亞洲(日本、南韓、香港、新加坡、台灣、中國、馬來西亞、泰國、菲律賓、越南、印尼、蒙古及以色列);歐洲(英國、愛爾蘭、法國、葡萄牙、西班牙、德國、瑞士、冰島、瑞典、芬蘭、比利時、荷蘭、意大利、希臘、匈牙利、挪威、俄羅斯、丹麥、立陶宛、黑山及烏克蘭);大洋洲(澳洲);北美洲(美國及加拿大);南美洲(巴西、古巴、墨西哥及阿根廷)以及非洲(南非)等。換言之,在澳門使用的音樂所隸屬的世界各地絕大多數的作曲家、作家和音樂出版社均已授權MACA代為管理有關其音樂作品於澳門公開表演、廣播等的牌照申請及版權管理。藉上述與各國家及地區之間的合約,MACA可以管理超過九成現時於澳門所使用的音樂作品。

     
         此外,在CISAC的協助下,MACA正在與世界各地更多CISAC之成員聯會簽署互惠協議,務求令音樂使用者只需要在MACA申請音樂公開播放牌照,便能安心合法地使用世界各地的版權音樂作品。

     

    宗旨


         根據MACA刊登於憲報的章程的第四條,「本會設立之目的是以其成員名義行使和建立成員對音樂、文學或戲劇工作之權利,又或根據在澳門及所有其他國家或地區之著作權或其他版權而舉辦活動之權利」,具體內容如下:

         一、知識產權方面

    甲、以澳門著作權制度之根基下,管理及執行本地作曲及作詞家的作品權益,現時本會管理過百萬本地以及上述國家及地區會員之音樂作品。根據作品於澳門的使用率,所有版權費用經扣除行政費用後將會全數分派予本會會員及海外聯會。

    乙、透過與海外聯會之間的互惠協議,在世界多個國家及地區,根據當地版權法於當地保障MACA會員的權益。

         二、音樂文化方面

    甲、推動版權意識,加強公眾對音樂創作人的尊重,確保他們的原創作品得到適當的報酬。

    乙、推廣及贊助音樂活動,鼓勵本地創作及設立音樂基金,以提高澳門的音樂創作水準。

     

    工作範疇

     

         一、通過音樂使用者向MACA申請的牌照合約方式管理及保障本地及海外聯會會員作品的公開表演、廣播、有     線傳 播及複製等權益。

         二、將收取得到的版權費經扣除行政費用後,以專業電腦系統計算並分派予本地會員及海外聯會。

         三、創立MACA音樂基金,此基金旨在提高本澳音樂創作水平、贊助本地音樂活動及培育音樂人才。

         四、向會員及音樂使用者提供有關音樂作品公開表演、廣播等方面的版權諮詢服務。

         五、就有關法例及其執行,聯絡政府有關部門並提交建議。